Here at monday.com, we aim to improve the way in which entire companies collaborate in order to boost team productivity and efficiency. monday.com’s Workspaces were created to help achieve exactly that!
We understand the pains of having many different departments and teams using one platform - everything can quickly become messy and confusing as teams and workloads grow. With that in mind, we've created Workspaces, which provide your account with a hierarchy of organization to help you better manage multiple departments, teams, and projects in one unified place.
With so much going on around you, you can now stay focused on what's relevant to you, while at the same time easily navigating across teams, departments, or projects. 🙌
To create a new Workspace, click to open the Workspace dropdown menu at the top left of your screen and select "Add workspace" as so:
After naming and creating Workspaces, team members can then simply move the boards to the relevant one to help keep things organized. There is no limit on the amount of Workspaces that can be created!
- Subscribing team members to workspaces
After creating your Workspace, you can invite who you'd like to it by clicking into the "Members" tab and adding the name of the user you want to invite. Workspace members will have access to all Main boards in the workspace, as well as any Private and Shareable boards to which they're subscribed.
- Joining or leaving a Workspace
Joining a Workspace can be done by clicking on the name of the Workspace, then clicking on "Join workspace" on the top right corner. All team members can join, including admins and viewers, except for guests.
With closed Workspaces, on the other hand, will have the option to "Request to Join", which will prompt a request to the Workspace owner to approve this. Once you've joined the workspace, you can leave using the same button.
- Removing team members from workspaces
When clicking on the Workspace name, Workspace owners can see all team members who have joined the workspace in the "Members" tab. They can then remove (or add) team members accordingly, to keep the relevant people in the loop.
You can easily switch between Workspaces by using the Workspace dropdown menu on the top left of your screen:
From this menu, you can search or scroll to locate the relevant Workspace in a breeze! When selecting your desired Workspace, you'll be directed to its homepage, where you can quickly navigate to recently visited boards/dashboards. Additionally, you can use this page to manage the subscribers and permissions (available on the Enterprise plan only), and more of that Workspace.
When viewing your Inbox or My Week section, your Workspace menu and boards list will be collapsed. To open it up again, simply click on the Workspaces icon as shown below.
When clicking into the dropdown menu, you'll first your own Favorites section. Following this, you'll see the Workspaces that you are subscribed to listed in alphabetical order, following the main account Workspace.
Browse all workspaces
To browse all Workspaces on your account, including those that you are not subscribed to and do not appear in the dropdown, simply click on the "Browse all" button at the bottom of the navigation screen as so:
Each Workspace can be customized to make it more personal and to reflect the nature of that department, team, or project. You can add a Workspace description, customize the cover photo as well as the Workspace icon. To do this, you can access each Workspace's homepage by clicking into it through the dropdown menu.
To customize the workspace cover photo, hover over the cover photo and click on "Add cover" on the top right corner.
To customize the Workspace background color and icon, click on "Edit" on the Workspace avatar.
These customized icons will appear in the dropdown menu, making it easier than ever to jump around different Workspaces and collaborate with other teams.
Boards can be moved from one Workspace to another by clicking on the three-dot-menu next to the board name, pressing "Move to" and then "Move to workspace". Only board owners and admins on the account can move boards to Workspaces that they are a part of.
Deleting a workspace can be done from the Workspace homepage. From there, click on the three-dot-menu on the top right corner of the page and from the resulting menu, you can select the option to "Delete workspace".
Under each separate Workspace, you can add folders to further group related boards and organize work processes better. Folders add an extra layer of detail and organization and ensure that your account is always manageable for your teams. To learn more about folders, check this out.
- Any team member can join an Open workspace.
- Any team member will have access to all Main boards in all Open workspaces and any Private/Shareable boards they have been invited to.
- Any team members can join by invite or request to join.
- Once joining, they have access to all Main boards within that workspace, and any Private/Shareable boards they've been invited to.
- Any team member subscribed to a board from a closed workspace will have access to that board but will not be able to see anything else within the workspace.
- Main boards in Closed workspaces are accessible only to team members who have joined the workspace (and board subscribers as mentioned above).
- These workspaces will be marked with a lock symbol, indicating a Closed workspace.
By default all team members can create a workspace. However, admins of an Enterprise plan can then also who is able to create Workspaces, allowing an extra level control and ensuring your account stays orderly at all times. This can be done by clicking on your profile picture in the bottom left of your screen, then "Admin", and navigating to "Permissions"
Who will see Main boards on my account?
All team members can access all main boards in all Open workspaces, through Bolt Switch and Search Everything. For workspaces they have joined, team members will see all main boards on their boards list. In Closed workspaces however, only team members who are subscribed the workspace or to a specific board, will have access to them.
Who will see Private/Shareable boards on my account?
Only team members subscribed to those boards can access them in both Open and Closed workspaces. Guests will have access only to the Shareable boards to which they've been invited.
Can Admins access all workspaces and boards in my account?
Admins can join Closed and Open workspaces without requesting access. As with team members, they will be able to access all Main boards in Open and Closed workspaces in the account, and any Private/Shareable boards to which they've been invited.
If you have any questions, please reach out to our team by using our contact form. We're available 24/7 and happy to help!