Here at monday.com, we aim to improve the way in which your entire company collaborates to boost productivity and efficiency. monday.com’s workspaces were created to help achieve exactly that!
What are Workspaces?
We understand the pains of having many different departments and teams using one platform - everything can quickly become messy and confusing as the teams and workloads grow. With that in mind, we've created Workspaces.
The Workspaces are here to help your organization better manage multiple departments, teams and projects in one unified place. They provide your account with a hierarchy of organization, allowing you to keep everything orderly as you seamlessly scale your account.
With so much going on around you, you can now stay focused on what's relevant to you, while at the same time easily navigate across teams, departments, or projects.
Creating a new workspace
To create a workspace, hover over the heading "Workspaces" on the top of your boards list, click on the 3-dot-menu, then on "Create Workspaces".
After creating the workspaces, team members can then simply move the boards to the relevant workspaces to keep things organized in the different departments and projects. You can create as many workspaces as you want :)
Managing team members on workspaces
Subscribing team members to workspaces
After creating your workspace, you can invite who you'd like to this workspace. All workspace members will have access to all Main boards in the workspace, as well as any Private and Shareable boards to which they're subscribed.
The workspaces to which you are subscribed will show up on your left boards menu with a coloured icon. If you are subscribed to a board within a workspace but not to the workspace itself, the workspace name and icon will show up in grey (see image below) and you will only see the boards in the workspace to which you are subscribed.
Joining or leaving a workspace
Joining a workspace can be done by clicking on the name of the workspace, then clicking on "Join" on the top right corner. All team members can join, including admins and viewers, except for guests.
Closed workspaces, will have the option to "Request to Join", which will prompt a request to the workspace owner to approve this. Once you've joined the workspace, you can leave using the same button.
Removing team members from workspaces
When clicking on the workspace name, workspace owners can see all team members who have joined the workspace and with access to the boards. They can then remove (or add) team members accordingly, to keep the relevant people in the loop.
Customizing your workspace
Each workspace can be customized to make it more personal and reflect the nature of that team. You can add a workspace description, customize the cover photo as well as the workspace icon.
Customizing the cover photo can be done by clicking on the workspace name, then click on "Add cover" on the top right corner.
To customize the workspace background color and icon, click on "Edit" on the workspace avatar.
These customized icons will appear on the boards list, making it easier than ever to jump around different workspaces and collaborate with other teams.
Moving boards from one workspace to another
Boards can be moved from one workspace to another by dragging and dropping the board into the relevant workspace. Only board owners and admins on the account can move boards to Workspaces that they are a part of.
Organize better using Folders
Under each separate workspace, you can add folders to group related boards and organize work processes better. Folders add an extra layer of detail and organization and ensure that your account is always manageable for your teams. To learn more about Folders, check this out.
The different types of workspaces
- Any team member can join an Open workspace.
- Any team member will have access to all Main boards in all Open workspaces and any Private/Shareable boards they have been invited to.
- Any team members can join by invite or request to join.
- Once joining, they have access to all Main boards within that workspace, and any Private/Shareable boards they've been invited to.
- Any team member subscribed to a board from a closed workspace will still have access to that board but will not be able to see anything else within the workspace.
- Main boards in Closed workspaces are accessible only to team members who have joined the workspace (and board subscribers as mentioned above).
- These workspaces will be marked with a lock symbol, indicating a Closed workspace.
Restrict who can create workspaces
By default all team members can create a workspace. Admins on the account can then define who is able to create workspaces allowing an extra level control, ensuring your account stays orderly at all times.
This can be done by going to the avatar, then "Admin", and navigating to "Permissions".
To learn more about other board and column permissions, check this out.
Who will see Main boards on my account?
All team members can access all main boards in all Open workspaces, through Bolt Switch and Search Everything. For workspaces they have joined, team members will see all main boards on their boards list. In Closed workspaces however, only team members who are subscribed the workspace or to a specific board, will have access to them.
Who will see Private/Shareable boards on my account?
Only team members subscribed to those boards can access them in both Open and Closed workspaces. Guests will have access only to the Shareable boards to which they've been invited.
Can Admins access all workspaces and boards in my account?
Admins can join Closed and Open workspaces without requesting access. As with team members, they will be able to access all Main boards in Open and Closed workspaces in the account, and any Private/Shareable boards to which they've been invited to.
Have any questions or feedback? Feel free to write us a comment below, or reach out to us at [email protected]!