What can we help you with?

Workspace permissions

 

Workspace permissions allow your team control over what actions can be done by which team members within the Workspace. Workspace owners can set up permissions based on the needs of the workspace and the individual teams. Feel secure and ready for action with these workspace permission settings!

 

How it works

Workspace permissions will harshen any permissions set up on the account level. This meaning, if your account level permissions is set to allow only admins to create private boards, the workspace permissions cannot be set to allow all team members to create private boards. Keep in mind, both the admin and workspace owner will be able to make changes to the workspace permissions. 

Note: Workspace permissions are available only to Enterprise accounts. To learn more about workspaces in general, check this out.

 

Setting up workspace permissions

The workspace permissions can be found by going to the workspace page by clicking on the workspace name itself (not the icon).

Then, select the "Permissions" tab on the left side of the page.

Group_1__7_.png

 

Once you are on the Permissions tab, you can limit who on your account can create Private, Shareable and Main boards, who can create dashboards and who can create automations in the workspace.

To learn more about all the other permissions you can set up on your account, check out this article

Note: We will be adding more workspace permissions to this page... Stay tuned!🎉

 

Types of Workspaces

In addition to Workspace permissions, you can also choose to set your Workspace as "Open" or "Closed" in order to restrict who is able to join it from your account. 

 

With Open workspaces:

  • Any team member can instantly join and access an Open workspace.
  • Any team member will have access to all Main boards in all Open workspaces and any Private/Shareable boards they have been invited to.

With Closed workspaces:

  • Any team members can join by invite or request to join.
  • Once joining, they have access to all Main boards within that workspace, and any Private/Shareable boards they've been invited to.
  • Any team member subscribed to a board from a closed workspace will have access to that board but will not be able to see anything else within the workspace.
  • Main boards in Closed workspaces are accessible only to team members who have joined the workspace (and board subscribers as mentioned above).
  • These workspaces will be marked with a lock symbol, indicating a Closed workspace. 

Group_5__9_.png

Note: Admins of an Enterprise plan will be able to view high-level details of a Closed Workspace such as its name, subscribers, and creation date via the content directory.

 

Restrict who can create workspaces 

By default all team members can create a workspace. However, admins of an Enterprise plan can also manage who is able to create workspaces, allowing an extra level control. This can be done by clicking on your profile picture in the bottom left of your screen, then "Admin", and navigating to "Permissions"

image_8__11_.png

 

 

If you have any questions, please reach out to our team by using our contact form. We're available 24/7 and happy to help!

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request