Board permissions or restrictions are meant to give the owner of the board the option to control what information can be changed on a board. This way, the structure of your board can't be rearranged and your columns won't be accidentally deleted. This is especially helpful if you are using shareable boards and have external guests invited to these boards and you want to make sure that they are only able to do certain things.
How to create a board permission?
- Step 1: pick your board owners
Before setting up a board permission, you need to decide who will be the owner(s) of your board. By default, the owner is the person that created the board. To add more owners, click on the people icon located on the upper right of your board. You can grant a blue crown to the user you want to be the owners.
- Step 2: Choose your permission
To add a board permission, click on the three bars menu located on the upper right of your board as below:
What are the different permissions?
There are three different settings for board permissions, you can find these options in the Hamburger menu. Let's dive into them one by one:
- Edit Everything
The default is set to 'Edit Everything" which means that everyone that is subscribed to the board is able to change the content and structure of the board, add new items, edit column names, change statuses, and create items updates.
- Edit Content
This permission allows non-board owners to add items, change statuses and cells on the board, and create item updates, but they are not able to edit the group or column titles or rearrange the structure of the board. This setting is great for when you want to collaborate on a project with an external guest on a shareable board, but want to make sure that a column won't accidentally be deleted or rearranged.
- View Only
With this permission, only owners of your board are able to change the board. Non-board owners are only able to communicate with this permission and are not able to do anything else. This setting is really helpful when you want a customer to be able to view a shareable board so you are able to keep them up to date on the progress of the project!
- Edit by Assignee
This new permission, coming to the Pro plan and above, allows anyone who isn't a board owner to only edit the content of the items assigned to them, and communicate on the board. This is a great option when you want to make sure your team members are only able to edit and update the tasks or projects assigned to them, and that they aren't able to accidentally change other team members' items on the board.
How to restrict column edit?
This new permission allows you to restrict the edit access of column on your board and choose who can edit it. This is really helpful when you want your team members and guests to be able to collaborate and update a board with the exception of only certain details. This way, you can maintain a good sense of transparency with your team, while making sure that only the right people can edit the right data on your boards.
How to restrict column view?
With this new permission you can restrict the view access of any column on your board and choose who can see it. This will help you make sure that your team members and guests only see the data you'd like them to see, while keeping everything in one board instead of having to manage the same project on multiple boards at a time.
For any further questions you may have about board permissions please don't hesitate to reach out to us by sending an email to [email protected]. We are available for you 24/7!