What can we help you with?

Board Permissions

 

We offer several different types of permissions on monday.com—account permissions, workspace permissions, board types, board permissions, and column permissions. In this article, we'll dive into the available board permissions or restrictions, which are meant to give the owner of the board control over what information can be changed or viewed on the board level.

 

Setting up board permissions

  • Step 1: pick your board owners

Before setting up board permissions, you need to decide who will be the owner(s) of your board. By default, the first owner is the person that created the board. To add more owners, click on the people "Invite" icon located on the upper right of your board:

Screen_Shot_2021-05-27_at_11.40_1.png

From there, click on the greyed-out crown to the right of a user's name to make that person a board owner. Clicking the grey crown will make the crown turn blue. This blue crown indicates that this user can now bypass any board permissions in place. 

image_6.png

 

  • Step 2: Choose your permissions

To add board permissions, click on the three-dot menu located on the upper right of your board. Then select "Board permissions" from the resulting menu as so:

Screen_Shot_2021-05-27_at_11.42_1.png

You will then reach the permissions center where you can select the type of permissions you'd like to apply to your board: 

image_2__20_.png

Note: When duplicating a board, any set board permissions will also be duplicated and carry over to the new board.

 

What are the different permission types?

When it comes to setting up board permissions, you can choose to set either editing permissions and/or viewing permissions (available on the Enterprise plan only). Let's explore both the viewing and editing permissions that are available!

 

Board editing permissions

With the board editing permissions, you have four different options available: edit everything, edit content, edit by assignee, and view only. Let's explore what each option means, below!

Screen_Shot_2021-05-27_at_12.31_1.png

1. Edit Everything

The default setting on every board is "Edit Everything". For shareable and private boards, this means that everyone who is subscribed to the board is able to change the content and structure of the board, add new items, edit column names, change statuses, and create updates. For main boards, these actions are available to every member of the account, even if they aren't subscribed to the board.


Automations & Integrations
This permission setting also allows users to create new recipes, toggle off/on recipes created by others, and delete recipes created by others. They cannot, however, edit another person’s recipes, save any automation recipe as a template, or edit the authentication on an integration recipe unless they are a board owner.

 

2. Edit Content

This permission allows non-board owners to add items, delete items, change statuses and cells on the board, move items across the board, and create item updates. They are not able to edit the group or column titles or rearrange the structure of the board by moving groups or columns. If you want to collaborate on a project with an external guest on a shareable board but make sure that a column won't accidentally be deleted or rearranged, this setting is ideal. 

 

Automations & Integrations

This permission setting also allows users to create new recipes, toggle off/on recipes created by others, and delete recipes created by others. They cannot, however, edit another person’s recipes, save any automation recipe as a template, or edit the authentication on an integration recipe unless they are a board owner.

 

3. Edit by Assignee

This permission, available on the Pro plan and above, allows anyone who isn't a board owner to only edit the content of the items assigned to them. This means that they can not delete items, create new items, or move items across the board. However, they can write, edit, and delete updates on all items. They can also view and download all files from the File Column. When selecting this option, the board owner will need to select which people column they would like to use when setting up the permissions. They can use either one or multiple people columns to do so.

This is a great option if you want to restrict your team members to only editing the tasks or projects assigned to them. With this setting, they won't be able to alter other team members' items on the board.

 

Automations & Integrations

Only board owners will be able to add, edit, and delete automation and integration recipes. This is true regardless of whether or not the user (who is not an owner) created the recipe in the past.

Note: All users will still see all items on the board with this editing permission set. To read more on setting item viewing restrictions, check out the "Item Viewing Permissions" section below or this article.

 

4. View Only

With this permission, only owners of your board are able to change the structure and the content of the board. Every other user is only able to view the board, view and download files from the File Column, and write updates (as well as edit and delete updates that they’ve written).

This setting is really helpful if you want a customer to be able to only view a shareable board and stay up-to-date on the progress of the project! It’s also great if you’re managing a directory or other view-only resource internally.

 

Automations & Integrations

Only board owners will be able to add, edit, and delete automation and integration recipes. This is true regardless of whether or not the user (who is not an owner) created the recipe in the past.

 

Item viewing permissions

Note:  The item viewing restrictions feature is currently in Beta phase of testing and is available only on the Enterprise plan only. If you are an admin of an Enterprise plan and you'd like to have this feature added to your account, please email us at support@monday.com.

 

With our brand new item viewing permissions, board owners can decide whether they'd like all users with access to this board to be able to view all items on it, or whether users will be able to see only the items assigned to them. This provides another layer of control and ensures collaboration in one space, without jeopardising access to sensitive data!

 

From the same board permissions center, you'll see the two viewing permissions available for you to choose from. We'll dive into what each option means right below!

Screen_Shot_2021-05-27_at_12.18_1.png

1. View everything

This is the default option and it will allow anyone with access to the board to view all items on it.

 

2. View items assigned to them in the people column 

This permission setting will ensure that users who have been assigned to an item in any of the people columns on this board will be able to view only those specific items and nothing else. Additionally, the creator of an item will be able to view those specific ones, and the board owner(s) will be able to view all items on the board.

 

Note: As item viewing permissions are still in the Beta phase of testing, there are some important limitations to be aware of. We recommend checking out the full item viewing permissions article to read more in depth about how item viewing permissions work!

 

And that's a wrap! We hope that this article was useful in discovering how board editing and viewing permissions can help you take control on what information can be changed or viewed on the board level. 🙌

 

If you have any questions, please reach out to our team by using our contact form. We're available 24/7 and happy to help!