What can we help you with?

Why is my automation disabled?

Why is my automation not running as intended? Here is a quick troubleshooting step to check-off your list!

There are three scenarios in which such a thing can happen: 

The First Scenario - Deactivated user

What happens to an automation that was configured by a user when that user has since been deactivated from your account? When a user is deactivated from an account, so too are their automation recipes. 

How do I know when an automation has been disabled for this reason?

You will receive a notification stating that the automation was deactivated and encouraging you to change ownership of the impacted automations. 

You can also check which of your recipes have been affected by taking note of a specific notification that will only appear on the deactivated user's automation recipes. Head to your board's Automation Center to check it out:

1.png

How can I re-enable this automation?

We know things are constantly changing and we want to minimize your workflow interruption. Here are a few quick steps to re-configure your automation:

 

Option 1: Transfer ownership of the automations

This action can only be completed by an account admin. To transfer ownership of automations from one user to another, you can go to Admin > Users > Automations Ownership:

image_202.png

Choose the current owner under the first drop-down and the new owner under the second drop-down. Click "Change owner" to complete the transfer.

 

Option 2: Create a new automation

As an enabled user, you can create the same automation from scratch to add it back to your workflow. To first add the automation,  go to the board you want to create an automation for and click on the automation button, located on the upper right of your screen as below: 
 
1.png
 
Once on the page, you will see a list of the automation recipes we offer, then go ahead and select the automation of your choice, and re-configure it to match the previous recipe!

Select "Update Automation" and you'll be all set! 

 

Option 3: Reactivate the team member

Note:  Do you have a team member who built your automation recipes and is now no longer with the company? By re-activating their login, and changing their credentials, you can now access their entire list of automations.

 

You also have the option to reactivate the team member in your account, of course! To do so, please follow the steps below: 

  1. Click your Profile Picture (avatar)
  2. Click Admin
  3. Click Users
  4. Select "Deactivated Users" from the dropdown menu
  5. Scroll to the right of the user's name to view a pencil.
  6. Click the pencil.
  7. Click on "activate user" 
  8. Send a password reset and change the credentials

2.png

 

Tip: Please make sure to activate the team members as either members or guests, as viewers do not have access to automation creation :) 
 

The Second Scenario - Unauthorized user

What happens to an automation that was configured by a user that has since been unsubscribed from that board, has had their permissions revoked from a column involved in the automation recipe, OR the user was changed from a team member/guest to a viewer? When a user is unsubscribed from a board, column, OR his type has changed, their automation recipes are deactivated as this user is unauthorized to make changes on that board.

Note:  When a user is unsubscribed from a board he is unauthorized to make any changes on that board. The same thing goes for viewers. Viewers are unauthorized to perform any actions on any board in your account.

 

How do I know when an automation has been disabled for this reason?

You will receive a notification that informs you of this change. The notification will say: "The automation was deactivated due to a change in permissions. Learn more."

You can also check which of your recipes have been affected by taking note of a specific message that will only appear on the deactivated user's automation recipes. Head to your board's Automation Center to check it out:

mceclip2.png

How can I re-enable this automation?

We know things are constantly changing and we want to minimize your workflow interruption. Here are a few quick steps to re-configure your automation:

 

Option 1: Create a new automation

As an enabled user, you can create the same automation from scratch to add it back to your workflow. To first add the automation,  go to the board you want to create an automation for and click on the automation button, located on the upper right of your screen as below: 
 
1.png
 
Once on the page, you will see a list of the automation recipes we offer, then go ahead and select the automation of your choice, and re-configure it to match the previous recipe!

Select "Update Automation" and you'll be all set! 

 

Option 2: Re-subscribe the user to the board 

You can simply re-subscribe this team member to the board by clicking on "who's on this board" and entering in their name or email!

 

 mceclip1.png

 

You can learn more about it here

 

Option 3: Change the user back to a member/Guest (and not Viewer) 

To do so, please follow the steps below: 

  1. Click your Profile Picture (avatar)
  2. Click Admin
  3. Click Users
  4. Select "Activated Viewers" from the dropdown menu
  5. Scroll to the right of the user's name to view a pencil.
  6. Click the pencil.
  7. Click on the drop-down menu and choose "member"/"Guest"

Screen_Shot_2019-11-13_at_18.08.31.png

Option 4: Transfer ownership of ALL of the user's automations

This action can only be completed by an account admin and it is not board-specific. If you wish to transfer all of the user's automations to someone else, you can complete these steps.
To transfer ownership of automations from one user to another, you can go to Admin > Users > Automations Ownership:

image_202.png

Choose the current owner under the first drop-down and the new owner under the second drop-down. Click "Change owner" to complete the transfer.

 

The Third Scenario - User is not allowed to use automations

What happens to an automation that was configured by a user that has since been revoked from creating automations? When an Admin revokes the user's right to create automations, so too are their automation recipes. 

How do I know when an automation has been disabled for this reason?

The admin of the account will receive a notification indicating that this is the case.

You can check which of your recipes have been affected by taking note of a specific notification that will only appear on the deactivated user's automation recipes. Head to your board's Automation Center to check it out:

mceclip3.png

 

An Admin can revoke the user's right to create automation from the Admin section. When this happens, all the automations that were created by this user will be deactivated and won't work. 

How do I know if the right to create automation has been revoked for a specific user?

The only way that this can happen is if the Admin of the account has revoked it from the Security Section of his Admin page. 

mceclip4.png

Note:  If the Admin of the account clicks on "Reset" the right to create automation will be revoked from this user. 

How can I re-enable this automation?

Option 1: Transfer ownership of the automations

This action can only be completed by an account admin. To transfer ownership of automations from one user to another, you can go to Admin > Users > Automations Ownership:

image_202.png

Choose the current owner under the first drop-down and the new owner under the second drop-down. Click "Change owner" to complete the transfer.

 

Option 2: Re-enable automations for the original user

To re-enable the automation under this user, you'll have to re-create the connection for this user. This can only be done on our end. So, should you encounter this error message and this scenario please reach out to [email protected] and be sure you send a screenshot of the error message you're seeing as well as the user's email (the user that was revoked) and the board's URL.  

 

More Assistance

If you have any further questions or feedback about automations or this article, don't hesitate to reach out to us at [email protected]. We are here for you 24/7!