What can we help you with?

Why is my automation deactivated?

This article covers the reasons why an automation might be deactivated and ways to correct the situation.

 

Note: All of our plans have automation limits. If you're unable to edit or create new automations and you are not the Admin of your account, please reach out to the Admin. If you are the Admin, please review your plan's limitations and the "Automations and Integrations Pricing" article.

 

 

Why is my automation deactivated?

There are five scenarios that can result in a deactivated automation: 

  1. Deactivated User. In this case, the automation was set up by a user who has since been deactivated from your account.
  2. Unauthorized User. In this case, the user who created the automation:
        1. has been unsubscribed from the board where they previously created an automation,
        2. has had their permissions revoked from a column involved in the automation recipe,
        3. was changed from a team member or guest to a viewer, OR
        4. has had their ability to create automations revoked.
  3. Target Group/Column/Board/Workspace Was Deleted. If your automation depends on a group or column that has been deleted, your automation will be deactivated. If you're using a cross-board automation and the board selected in your automation recipe is deleted, your automation will be deactivated. If you're using a recipe that creates a new board and a workspace was targeted and then deleted, your automation will be deactivated.
  4. Automation Loop. Dependency loops happen when items are made dependent on one another. If the top item is dependent on the last item in a sequence, your automation will be deactivated.
  5. Item Limit Reached. If your automation tries to create an item and the item limit has been reached, the automation will be deactivated.

Jump to one of the five sections (Deactivated User, Unauthorized User, Target Was Deleted, or Automation Loop, Item Limit Reached) to learn more about how you can enable your automation again.

 

Deactivated User

How do I know when an automation has been deactivated for this reason?

You will not receive a notification stating that the automation was deactivated, but you can check which of your recipes have been impacted by looking at your board's Automation Center:

1.png

 

How can I enable this automation again?

Option 1: Transfer ownership of the automations

This action can only be completed by an account Admin. To transfer ownership of automations from one user to another, you can click on the blue link in the error message (as above), or go to Admin > Users > Automations Ownership:

2.png

Choose the current owner under the first drop-down and the new owner under the second drop-down. Click "Change owner" to complete the transfer.

 

Note:  Once you successfully transfer ownership, your automations will remain deactivated. You need to manually go through and turn the relevant automations back on after transfer.

 

Option 2: Reactivate the team member

You have the option to reactivate the deactivated team member. To do so, please follow the steps below: 

  1. Click your Profile Picture (avatar)
  2. Click Admin
  3. Click Users
  4. Select "Deactivated Users" from the dropdown menu
  5. Scroll to the right of the user's name to view a pencil.
  6. Click the pencil.
  7. Click on "Activate user" 

Reactivate_User.gif

 

Note:  Please be sure to activate the team member as either a member or guest. Viewers do not have the ability to create or edit automations.

 

Option 3: Create a new automation

You can create the same automation from scratch. Go to the board you want to use the automation on and follow the usual steps. To learn more about setting up automations, visit the monday.com Automations article

 

Unauthorized User

How do I know when an automation has been deactivated for this reason?

You will not receive a notification that informs you of this change. You can check which of your recipes have been impacted in the board's Automation Center:

3.png

 

How can I enable this automation again?

Option 1: Resubscribe the user to the board or give them permission to edit the requisite column

If the user has been removed from the board, you can resubscribe the team member to the board by clicking on "Who is on this board?" and entering in their name or email:

4.png

You can learn more about the subscription option here.

 

OR, if you're facing a column permission issue instead, you can change the column permissions. You have the option of removing the restriction entirely or changing the "Permissions Settings" to include the user in the list of those able to edit the column:

5.png

 

Option 2: Create a new automation

You can create the same automation from scratch. Go to the board you want to use the automation on and follow the usual steps. To learn more about setting up automations, visit the monday.com Automations article

 

Option 3: Change the user back to a member or guest 

If you changed the user to a viewer, thereby removing their ability to create or edit automation, you can change the user back to a member or guest. To do so, please follow these steps: 

  1. Click your Profile Picture (avatar)
  2. Click Admin
  3. Click Users
  4. Select "Activated Viewers" from the dropdown menu
  5. Scroll to the right of the user's name to view a pencil.
  6. Click the pencil.
  7. Click on the drop-down menu and choose "Member" or "Guest"

6.gif

 

Option 4: Transfer ownership of ALL of the user's automations

This action can only be completed by an account Admin and it is not board-specific. If you wish to transfer all of the user's automations across all boards to someone else, you can.

To transfer ownership of automations from one user to another, you can go to Admin > Users > Automations Ownership:

7.png

Choose the current owner under the first drop-down and the new owner under the second drop-down. Click "Change owner" to complete the transfer.

 

Your Target Was Deleted

How do I know when an automation has been deactivated for this reason?

After the targeted workspace/board/column/group is deleted and the automation is triggered, you will receive a notification that informs you of this change. The notification will specify what the change was. For instance, for a deleted board you will see:

8.png

And for a deleted column, you will see:

9.png

You can also check which of your recipes have been impacted in the board's Automation Center:

image_316.png

10.png

11.png

12.png

 

How can I enable this automation again?

Option 1: Restore the deleted workspace/board/column/group from the Recycle Bin

You can check your Recycle Bin for deleted elements. Deleted elements will be stored in the Recycle Bin for 30 days. To recover a deleted element, locate it in your Recycle Bin by scrolling or searching and click the blue "Restore" button.

 

Option 2: Choose a new workspace/board/column/group

Click on the notification to view the impacted automation. This will allow you to edit the automation. Select a new workspace, board, column, or group (as required) to reactivate the automation.

 

Automation Loop

How do I know when an automation has been deactivated for this reason?

You will not receive a notification that informs you of this change, but we're working on making this a reality. You can, however, check which of your recipes have been impacted in the board's Automation Center:

13.png

 

How can I enable this automation again?

Check out this article: Dependency loops and how to avoid them

 

Item Limit Reached

How do I know when an automation has been deactivated for this reason?

If you've reached your item limit and the automation attempts to create an item, you will receive a notification that informs you that your automation is no longer active:

image_326.png

 

How can I enable this automation again?

Integrations can only complete ~500 actions in a minute per board, while Automations can complete ~3,000 actions in a minute per board. (For a review of how actions are defined, please check out the Automation and Integration Actions article.) Once the limit is reached, if the automation has been triggered, it will not run. Instead, it will retry in the next minute. In this case, wait to see if the automation runs successfully at a later time.

Overall, each individual board has an item limit. Your limit per board is based on the tier of your account, whether Standard, Pro, or Enterprise. If you have reached your account's limit, delete or archive some items from the board and reactivate the automation in the Automation Center.

 

 

More Assistance

If you have any questions, please reach out to our team by using our contact form. We're available 24/7 and happy to help!