What can we help you with?

What should I do with my "done" tasks?

Opening your board and seeing that a bunch of your tasks are "done" is so satisfying! But what should you do with your "done" tasks?

We have a few options for you. All of the options involve automations. If you aren't already familiar with automations, we recommend checking out our automation article for a better understanding of how automations work.

 

Option 1: Automatically archive your completed tasks

Once your tasks are marked as completed, you can automatically archive them by using automations. You can access and restore your archived items at any point. To learn how to unarchive an item click right here.

Step 1

By clicking on "Automate" at the top area of any board, you will enter our Automation Center:

Frame_231.png

From there you will be able to choose from a variety of automation recipes or build your own custom automation:

Frame_232.png

Step 2

You can either use the search bar to find the exact recipe you're looking for or you can browse through the Status Change automations. For this option, we're going to use "When a status changes to something, archive the item":

Frame_233.png

Step 3

Then set the recipe to archive an item when the status changes to whichever label indicates "done" on your board:

Frame_234.png

Once it's set up, it works just like magic! ✨

Archive_Task.gif

This will give you better visibility into the remaining uncompleted tasks.

 

Option 2: Automatically delete your completed tasks

Once your tasks are marked as completed, you can automatically delete them by using automations. When you delete a task, it will remain in your Recycle Bin for 30 days. After 30 days, it will be completely deleted and you will not be able to retrieve it.

Step 1

If you'd like to go ahead with this option, open up the Automation Center.

Step 2

We recommend using this automation recipe:

image_269.png

Step 3

If you set it up as follows:

image_270.png

When marked done, all of your tasks will be deleted automatically!

 

Option 3: Create a group for your completed tasks

This is our preferred option at monday.com! Sometimes we don't want to archive or delete our tasks. For instance, if we still want completed tasks on the board to be able to review them or even factor them into the Chart View.

Step 1

So we set up a group named "Done" at the bottom of each board:

Frame_235__1_.png

Step 2

Then we can set up an automation that will move a task to the "Done" group once it's marked complete. To set up the automation, click on "Automate" at the top of your board and select the following automation recipe: 

image_276__1_.png

Step 3

Then set the recipe to move an item to the group for completed tasks when the status changes.

image_277.png

Now watch it work:

Move_to_Group.gif

Isn't it awesome? Go ahead and try it. 😊

 

If you have any additional questions please don't hesitate to reach out to our team at support@monday.com. We're here for you 24/7!