What can we help you with?

How do I invite users to join my account?

 

One of the first steps in setting up your monday.com account is inviting team members to join. Continue reading to learn how to do it!

 

Inviting team members to your account

There are two ways to invite members to your account. You can do it from the "Invite members" icon in the left pane, or right from a board. Let's review both methods!

  • Invite Members icon

Click on the "Invite Members" icon located in the left panel above your profile picture. 

Group_13.png

 

Note: The only way to add people to your account is by invitation or by allowing users to join through a specific email domain. You can not create placeholder accounts.

 

In the pop-up window, you can either invite members by clicking "Copy" beside the link and then sending it directly to your team members or by typing their email addresses into the field below. 

copy_or_email.png

Note: You will only have the option to send an invite link if you have the "Authorized domain" option enabled in the admin security settings. You can read more on this in the following section of this article.

 

If you choose to type the email of the team member(s) you'd like to invite, the next step is to choose the level of access you wish to give them! You can select to make them a full "Member" or a "Viewer", which is a read-only member who will not be able to make any changes to your data. 

member_or_viewer.png

You also have the option of inviting your new team member directly to an existing team within your account. Type in the name of the team (for example, HR or Customer Service) or you can even create a new team! Check out this article to learn more about using teams to organize your teammates and make assigning tasks much more efficient. 

invite_to_team.png

 

Note: Pending users who have not accepted their invitation will have a standard avatar image as their profile picture. If they accept their invitation, their initials will be shown until they upload their own picture.

 

When you're finished, click "Invite". Your new team members will receive an email that looks something like this:

Group_34.png

Once they click "Accept Invitation", they will be redirected to your account, where they can create a profile and get started!

 

Important note: Pending users who have not accepted their invitations within 90 days will be fully deleted and there will be no way to recover any data related to them.

 

  • Board Subscribers window

To invite team members to your account through one of your boards, click on the "Invite" icon at the top of the board, like this:

Group_19.png

Next, you'll see a pop-up window will all of the board's subscribers. Here, you can add new members by typing their email(s) into the search bar and clicking "Invite a new member by email". 

CPT2204291427-1411x673.gif

You'll be able to see all of your pending invitations in the list of board subscribers, as shown below:

Group_30__3_.png

As long as a user is pending (they have not yet accepted their invitation email), their profile picture will be a generic black and white image. Only after they complete their sign up, then colorful initials will be presented. Additionally, an admin will not be able to change the profile picture of a pending user until they are fully activated on the account.

Note:  To add a guest onto your account, you must be using a Sharable board. From this board type, you can follow the same steps through the board subscribers window to add a guest.

 

Who can invite team members?

Admins of an account can control who is able to add new users to the account! To control who can add new users to the account, click your profile picture and head over to the Admin section.

Group_12.png

Next, click on "Security" on the left side of the admin section and toggle into the "Login" tab, where you can choose from one of two security and authentication settings:

  • Only admins can invite users
  • Any person with an email address from a specified 'authorized domain' can join the account

Let's review each option below!

 

  • Only admins can invite new users

This setting is enabled by default on every account and it allows only the admins of an account to invite new users to join. The users who they decide to invite can be anyone with any email address.

Group_21.png

 

  • Authorized Domain

Alternatively, the admins of an account may want any user from a certain email domain (e.g. emails that end in @monday.com) to easily join the account without invitation. For this case, the admin can add an 'authorized domain' so that anyone who has this email domain can join the account on their own.

Group_22.png

With this setting enabled, account Members or Viewers can also choose to invite users from the authorized domain. 

 

Note:  When the "authorized domain" login settings are activated, admins will still be able to invite users with any email domain if they choose to.

 

If you choose to customize one of these settings, simply click "Save changes" to apply them to your account!

 

How to delete an invitation sent by mistake

Have you invited a user or a guest by mistake and want to cancel this invitation? Or misspelled the email address and have sent it to the wrong person accidentally? You can cancel the invitation by following these simple steps.

 

Step 1

Click your profile picture and select "Teams".

Group_23.png

 

Step 2

Here you'll see a list of all of the guests and users in your account. Click "Pending" in order to view your pending invites. From there, you will be able to either resend the invite or click "Cancel" to delete it.

Group_24.png

 

Note:  Has the new member already accepted your invitation? Don't worry, it's not too late. Admin can deactivate account users at any time following these easy steps

 

Help! My team member hasn't received the invite

The first thing we would recommend is to ask your team member to check their spam folder. If it is not in the spam, try to resend the invite by following the instructions above.

 

Limitations

There is a daily limit of invites you can send. The amount is calculated as "maximum users allowed in your account * 3. This means that for example, if you have purchased the 10 users package and need to grow your team, you can invite 10*3=30 users and/or guests per day.

In case you need to invite more users than your limit urgently, please reach out to us at support@monday.com.

 

If you have any questions, please reach out to our team by using our contact form. We're available 24/7 and happy to help! 🙂

Have more questions? Submit a request