What can we help you with?

How are our charges calculated?

Your invoices should never be a mystery! This article will walk you through how we calculate your charges.

 

Before diving into this article, we suggest making sure you're an Admin if you want to manage anything billing related. Only Admins have access to the billing section of your account.

If you're a Billing Contact for the account, you may find the following information helpful, but only an Admin can make changes.

 

Initial Cost

Your initial subscription will be charged based on the options you choose-- monthly or yearly billing, and the number of seats you would like available on your account. The very first invoice you receive from us will reflect these choices.

 

Renewal Cost

As long as you only fill the number of seats that you paid for, your subscription will renew at the same cost as your initial charge. If you're using fewer seats than you originally paid for, your plan will still renew at the same cost as your initial charge unless you downgrade. If you chose monthly billing, you will be charged and receive an invoice every 30 days. If you chose yearly billing, you will be charged every 365 days.

 

Upgrades

There are two types of upgrades. Allow us to explain.

Manual upgrades

If you manually upgrade your plan, you will pay for the full cost of the new plan and you will start a new billing cycle. For example, say that you are on a monthly plan. You're 15 days into the month and you're paying $50/month. You want to increase the number of seats on your plan so you decide to upgrade. You choose the $100/month plan. When you manually upgrade, you will be charged $100 less the $25 remaining from the 15 days that you did not use on your previous plan and your billing cycle will start over. Assuming you make no further changes to your account, you won't be charged again until a month has passed. When you are charged again, your plan will renew at $100/month.

Auto-upgrades

If you exceed the number of seats paid for on your account and you take no action to remove the extra users, your plan will be automatically upgraded. You will be charged for the full cost of the new plan. Your billing cycle will start over. All of the rules for manual upgrades apply to auto-upgrades. The difference is that a manual upgrade is initiated by you, whereas an auto-upgrade is initiated automatically by our system.

 

Managing an auto-upgrade

Before any auto-upgrade, we send three emails to the Admin of the account warning that the account has exceeded the number of users allotted by the selected plan.

  • First Email: This email notifies the Admin of the situation. It explains that the account has more users than allowed on the current plan. It warns of an auto-upgrade. From the time that the first email is sent, the Admin then has 5 days to make changes.
  • Second Email: Two days after the number of users on the account has exceeded the plan allotment, a second email is sent to notify the Admin that the system will upgrade the account in three days.
  • Third Email: Four days after the number of users on the account has exceeded the plan allotment, a third email is sent to notify the Admin that the system will upgrade the account in one day.

If the Admin misses the 5-day deadline, the account will be auto-upgraded to the next user tier. For example, if you are on a Standard 10 User Monthly plan and you go from 10 users to 11 users, you will trigger an auto-upgrade from our system. If you do not remove the 11th user before the 5 days are up, your plan will be upgraded to the next user tier of the Standard Monthly plan.

If you'd like to avoid an auto-upgrade, follow the instructions in the How to manage an auto-upgrade article.

 

If you have any questions, please reach out to our team by using our contact form. We're available 24/7 and happy to help! 😄