What can we help you with?

Advanced Worskpaces Permissions

Workspaces help your organization better manage multiple departments, teams and projects in one unified place. They provide your account with a hierarchy of organization, allowing you to keep everything orderly as you seamlessly scale your account. 

Advanced Workspace permissions is an Enterprise feature, allowing you to manage what each user in the account can do in your Workspaces. These permissions allow you to easily keep control of who can access Workspace content. 

Learn more about the types of Workspaces and the Advanced Permissions that admins can set up to control what their users can see and do on the account.

WS_overview.png

 

How to create a new Workspace? 

Navigate to "See all Workspaces" at the bottom of the boards list.  Frame_1__6_.png

 

Next, click on "Add" on the top right of the screen.

 

image_20__1_.png

 

There, you can set Workspace restrictions- if this will be an Open or Closed Workspace. 

 image_21__1_.png

 

The different types of Workspaces  

The advanced Workspace permissions allows teams to set up two different types of Workspaces - Open and Closed Workspaces.

Open Workspaces

  • Any team member can join an Open Workspace.
  • Any team member will have access to all Main boards in all Open Workspaces and any Private/Shareable boards they have been invited to.

 

Closed Workspaces

  • Any team members can join by invite or request to join.
  • Once joining, they have access to all Main boards within that Workspace, and any Private/Shareable boards they've been invited to.
  • In addition, other team members subscribed to a specific board, but not a part of the Workspace will also have access to the board. 
  • Main boards in Closed Workspaces are accessible only to team members subscribed to the Workspace.
  • These Workspaces will be marked with a lock symbol, indicating a Closed Workspace.  

 

Note: Only Workspaces that you have joined or been invited to will appear on your boards list, keeping things neat and manageable. 

  

Frame_1__10_.png

 

Restrict who can create Workspaces 

By default all team members can create a Workspace. Admins on the account can then define who is able to create Workspaces allowing an extra level control, ensuring your account stays orderly at all times.

This can be done by going to the avatar, then "Admin", and navigating to "Permissions".

 

Frame_1__11_.png

 

To learn more about other board and column permissions, check this out

 

Who can do what on the different Workspaces?

The following section will break down the differences between each level of users with Advanced Workspace Permissions:

 

  • Joining an open Workspace

All team members can do this, including admins and viewers, except for guests.

 

  • Joining a closed Workspace

All team members can do this, including admins and viewers, except for guests.

Admins can join without requesting access, while team members and viewers will need to request to join.

 

  • See main boards in open Workspaces

All team members can access all main boards in all open Workspaces. For Workspaces they have joined, team members will see all main boards on their boards list. However, they still access other main boards in open Workspaces through Bolt Switch and Search Everything.

 

  • See main boards in closed Workspace

All team members who have joined the Workspace can access all main boards in closed Workspaces, as well as other team members subscribed to that specific board.

 

  • See private/shareable boards in open and closed Workspaces

Only team members subscribed to that board can access these boards. Guests will have access to only the Shareable boards they've been invited to in open and closed Workspaces.

 

Note:  Admins will not have access to Private/Shareable boards they were not invited to. To gain access if required, they can take ownership of these boards.  To learn more, check out

 

 

 How to join or leave a Workspace?

Joining a Workspace can be done by clicking on the name of the Workspace, then clicking on "Join" on the top right corner. Closed Workspaces, will have the option to "Request to Join", which will prompt a request to the Workspace owner to approve this.

Once you've joined the Workspace, you can leave using the same button.

Frame_1__4_.png

 

 

How to manage the users in my Workspace?

When clicking on the Workspace name, Workspace owners can see all team members joined to the Workspace and with access to the boards. 

They can then remove or add users accordingly, to keep the relevant team members in the loop.

image_22.png

To learn more about other board and column permissions, check this out

 

How to customize a Workspace?

Each Workspace owner will be able to customize their Workspaces to make it more personal and reflect the nature of that team. 

Customizing the cover photo can be done by clicking on the Workspace name, then click on "Add cover" on the top right corner. To customize the Workspace background color and icon, click on "Edit" on the Workspace avatar.

These customized icons will appear on the boards list, making it easier than ever to jump around different Workspaces and collaborate with other teams.

workspace__3_.gif

 

 

Who can move boards between Workspaces?

Only board owners and admins on the account can move boards to Workspaces that they are a part of.

Moving Main boards from a Closed to an Open Workspace will make its content accessible to all team members in the account. Moving Main boards from an Open to a Closed Workspace will make it accessible only to team members a part of that Workspace.

 

move.png

 

Have any questions? Let us know at [email protected] and we'd be happy to assist :)