What can we help you with?

Board Permissions

 

 

We offer several different types of permissions—account permissions, board types, board permissions, and column permissions. Board permissions or restrictions are meant to give the owner of the board control over what information can be changed on the board level.

 

Setting up board permissions

  • Step 1: pick your board owners

Before setting up board permissions, you need to decide who will be the owner(s) of your board. By default, the first owner is the person that created the board. To add more owners, click on the people icon located on the upper right of your board:

iter.png

 

Click on the greyed-out crown to the right of a user's name to make that person a board owner. Clicking the grey crown will make the crown turn blue. This blue crown indicates that this user can now bypass any board permissions in place. 

w.png

 

  • Step 2: Choose your permissions

To add board permissions, click on the three-dot menu located on the upper right of your board. Then select "Board permissions" from the menu:

permissions.png

You will then reach the permissions center where you can select the type of permissions you'd like to apply to your board: 

1.png

 

Note: When duplicating a board, any set board permissions will also be duplicated and carry over to the new board.

 

 

What are the different permission types?

There are four different settings for board permissions. Let's dive into them one by one:

Edit Everything

The default setting on every board is "Edit Everything". For shareable and private boards, this means that everyone who is subscribed to the board is able to change the content and structure of the board, add new items, edit column names, change statuses, and create updates. For main boards, these actions are available to every member of the account, even if they aren't subscribed to the board.


Automations & Integrations
This permission setting also allows users to create new recipes, toggle off/on recipes created by others, and delete recipes created by others. They cannot, however, edit another person’s recipes, save any automation recipe as a template, or edit the authentication on an integration recipe unless they are a board owner.

Edit Content

This permission allows non-board owners to add items, delete items, change statuses and cells on the board, move items across the board, and create item updates. They are not able to edit the group or column titles or rearrange the structure of the board by moving groups or columns. If you want to collaborate on a project with an external guest on a shareable board but make sure that a column won't accidentally be deleted or rearranged, this setting is ideal. 

Automations & Integrations

This permission setting also allows users to create new recipes, toggle off/on recipes created by others, and delete recipes created by others. They cannot, however, edit another person’s recipes, save any automation recipe as a template, or edit the authentication on an integration recipe unless they are a board owner.

Edit by Assignee

This permission, available on the Pro plan and above, allows anyone who isn't a board owner to only edit the content of the items assigned to them. This means that they can not delete items, create new items, or move items across the board. However, they can write, edit, and delete updates on all items. They can also view and download all files from the File Column. When selecting this option, the board owner will need to select which people column they would like to use when setting up the permissions. They can use either one or multiple people columns to do so.

This is a great option if you want to restrict your team members to only editing the tasks or projects assigned to them. With this setting, they won't be able to alter other team members' items on the board.

Automations & Integrations

Only board owners will be able to add, edit, and delete automation and integration recipes. This is true regardless of whether or not the user (who is not an owner) created the recipe in the past.

 

Note: All users will still see all items on the board. While it is possible to hide columns, there is not currently a setting that will hide items.

 

View Only

With this permission, only owners of your board are able to change the structure and the content of the board. Every other user is only able to view the board, view and download files from the File Column, and write updates (as well as edit and delete updates that they’ve written).

This setting is really helpful if you want a customer to be able to only view a shareable board and stay up-to-date on the progress of the project! It’s also great if you’re managing a directory or other view-only resource internally.

Automations & Integrations

Only board owners will be able to add, edit, and delete automation and integration recipes. This is true regardless of whether or not the user (who is not an owner) created the recipe in the past.

 

 

For any further questions you may have about board permissions, please don't hesitate to reach out to us by sending an email to [email protected]. We are available for you 24/7!