What level of users are there in my account?

Users, admin, guests... we feel you! Those can be confusing. This article covers the difference between each level of user in your monday.com account. 

What is an admin?

To explain it simply, an admin is kind of like a super user with some cool super monday.com powers. But really, the admin has the ability to oversee the entire account; managing everything from users and boards to security and billing. This allows for one team member (or more if you choose) to manage his/her team effectively and securely. 

To access this part of the account as an admin, simply go to your avatar at the top right and select Admin.

Screen_Shot_2018-03-26_at_11.20.41_AM.png

Then you will see all the sections of what an Admin can do.

Screen_Shot_2018-03-26_at_11.21.32_AM.png

Here's a breakdown of what an Admin can do (in addition to everything a user can do):

  • Change account name
  • Change Account URL
  • Change the Logo (for example from monday.com to the company logo)
  • Set & Sort Default Labels for the status columns
  • See all the Users and Admins and add additional admins to the account
  • Set account security
  • See the invoices and payment method
  • See all the Basic, Storage and Advanced statistics
  • Cancel the account
  • Transfer or change Board Ownership
  • Disable users
  • Delete users
  • Delete the whole account

Want to see how to effectively use the admin section? Click here to read our "all things admin!" article.

 

What are main users?

Main users are individuals that are invited into your account as team members. Team members can see and edit all information on Main Boards, and can be invited to collaborate easily on both Shareable and Private Boards. In other words, main users are your teammates or employees in your department or organization with whom you work with everyday!

A User can do the following (as well as the admin of course):

  • Create a board
  • Create pulses
  • Create folders
  • Invite company members inside a board and pulse
  • Viewing capabilities of all main boards
  • Edit his profile

 

What are guests users?

Guest users are users that are external to your team, such as a vendor, client, freelancer or outside consultant. Guests can only be invited to a Shareable Board/s and as such, will NOT be able to view information on Main or Private Boards. Guests must be invited one board at a time to boards in the Shareable area and will be limited to what they can see and do in your account. This amazing feature helps you to collaborate safely with guests while maintaining the security of the information stored on Main and Private Boards. 

To learn what guests can and cannot do on your monday.com account, please check out this article. 

What are subscribers?

Subscribers are admin, users, guests that are following your board. This means that each time someone will post an update on this board, it will appear in their inbox. To learn more about it, check out this article.

What are board owners?

A board owner is either:

  • The person who created the board;
  • Any subscribers of the board which the board creator has chosen to be co-owners of the board. 

Board ownership is an important feature when setting restrictions on boards, making them read only for non-owners. This can be done through the Board Permissions button, found in the Hamburger Icon Menu. You can read more about how to set board permissions here

 

If you have any questions about this or what's in this article, feel free to reach out to our customer success team at support@monday.com